Nominations Sought for 2021 ACBF Pro Bono Achievement Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2021 ACBF Pro Bono Achievement Awards. These awards recognize individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to pro bono service in our communities. The 2021 awards will be presented at the Fall Foundation Reception on Wednesday, October 6, 5:30 p.m., at Hotel Monaco. The award winners will also be honored at the Public Service Committee's annual volunteer recognition event which will be held during Pro Bono Week, October 24-31.

Nominations may be made in the following categories:

Jane F. Hepting Individual Attorney Award

This award is given to an attorney who has shown exemplary commitment to or made substantial achievements in pro bono legal services. The ACBF Board of Trustees adopted a resolution in 2002 to name this award in recognition of Jane Hepting’s dedication to the delivery of pro bono legal services through her 26 years as an NLSA attorney, the many and varied pro bono programs that she helped create and implement, her recruitment initiatives and exceptional training programs to attract and prepare volunteer attorneys, her exceptional expenditures of time and energy on behalf of pro bono legal services, and her outstanding commitment and dedication to public service, the legal profession, and the community.

Lorraine M. Bittner Public Interest Attorney Award

This award is given to an outstanding and dedicated attorney who is employed by an entity or program whose primary function is the delivery of civil legal services to low-income individuals or organizations that serve the poor or disadvantaged. The award is named in honor of the first attorney to receive it when it was established in 2005, in honor of her exceptional and career-long commitment to the needs of the poor and disadvantaged through her work at Neighborhood Legal Services Association and the Women’s Center and Shelter of Greater Pittsburgh.

Kathryn M. Kenyon Leadership Award

This occasional award is given to an individual who has demonstrated commitment and exceptional leadership in pro bono efforts benefitting the most vulnerable in our communities.   The award was established in 2015 and is named in honor of Katie Kenyon, who has provided pro bono legal services throughout her legal career and has shown outstanding initiative and leadership as volunteer chair of organizations assisting individuals with low incomes including the ACBA Public Service Committee, the Pittsburgh Pro Bono Partnership, and Neighborhood Legal Services Association.

Organization Award
(law firm, corporate legal department, government legal department, or other entity or group)

This award recognizes groups of individuals who collectively or as an institution have shown exemplary commitment to or made substantial achievements in the delivery of pro bono legal services.

Special Service Awards

Individuals or organizations who do not fall into another category and who have made substantial contributions to the delivery of free legal services may be nominated and recognized in this category. Such nominees might include attorneys, judges, paralegals, law students, and others.


Past Award Winners

  • Special Events
  • Pro Bono